Finding family – looking for the needle in the haystack

Have you ever tried to find a relative named Jones or Smith?  Well that’s what it’s like for me – I’m trying to locate people who came to BC when my grandparents arrived in Canada in 1923.  I’m a bit late.  All those people have passed away, and so have many of their offspring.  So I must rely on the memories of their grandkids, and also on church records. But those are miles from where I live, and often on microfeish – and that’s tough to read.  Plus you have to GO there to do the research. Another blind alley.

How do I find the right Warkentin and Isaak in a region where those names are common as Jones or Smith? My first clue is that my grandfather was reputedly a fine blacksmith.

my grandfather was a blacksmith by trade

About dorothydoherty

Visual artist
This entry was posted in Finding Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding family – looking for the needle in the haystack

  1. zoeclemens says:

    Hi Dorothy..very interesting. I like the picture of the Anvil. I will be interested to here more about what you find out about your family.

Leave a Reply

